Who’s Putin?

I imageplayed a proper game of golf yesterday. 18 holes on a private course as the guest of a friend of a  friend. I held my own, which meant I didn’t unnecessarily humiliate myself or more importantly, them, as I conducted my game. I did occasionally swear, from time to time, or uttered some undecipherable exclamation when I grounded my club or my ball went crazy in  the wrong direction. My girlfriend just uttered her polite and charming “Oh NO!” by contrast, when her ball did the same. As if her shank was  such an unexpected surprise. I admired her for that, for her “Oh NO!”, as opposed to my, trying to be  under my breath, “fuck”!  She is a much more politer exclaimer than I am.  I’ll never be her. I won’t ever be as polite and as refined and edited as she, nor will she be me. I’ll accept this and this is the basis of a good mutually beneficial relationship. I found a new friend that might rub off on me  in a good way, and I, her, I hope.

Girlfriends; i.e. a friendships  between women is measured in dog years here in Palm Beach. Seven  years anywhere else,  is  one year here. Everyone is so transient. Geographically, we are either  going north or south with the season. When  will you see them again?  But their relationship status is equally important. Are they with, or without a man? We, the single women are all orbiting in a similar solar system, but if you get hooked up with someone in a more permanent basis, you go into another solar system, and your orbits don’t necessarily cross any more. I’ve been missing a good girl friend whose orbit I’m not intersecting with currently, and am hoping we reconnect. But I’m relaxed about it. One of the things about Palm Beach; its like an estuary, where there is always a good flow of both, clear pure water  and the salty brackish water. You need both. There is as theory that life began on earth in the estuaries, where there were two distinct cultures; salt and clear, mixing, that created life on land. The salty and the pure in Palm Beach certainly makes it more interesting and creative for me.

We had some great conversations on the course yesterday. I heard the story about a friend of a friend, a guy, newly released from the  bonds of marriage, and was enjoying his new found freedom and how it manifested itself with the multitude of  younger nubile, willowy women who are willing to throw  themselves at him, because of his maturity and financial status. He was enjoying himself immensely with a younger gal, his dance instructor. He, a hedge fund guy, when during dinner, he mentioned that he, that  day,  had been at a lecture about Vladimir Putin, and his bed fellow responded: Who’s Putin?  HIs  30 year old playmate didn’t know who  was the most powerful man in the world is. It was a wake up call for him.  Putin  can apparently effect sex in America. They didn’t have sex that night. It was was the grand  reckoning that he had little in common with this gal other than the most basic gratification. Eventually we all need  intellectual and soulful connection.

Ive been working away, hard on “For Love or Money” my comedy screenplay and so haven’t been writing post as  I’d like. But here is this one. Good night y’all. Peace, love and a good solid  night sleep to y’all.

Leave a comment