Hallelujah! It’s a Miracle!

image“I’m SO happy!” I said aloud, as I woke up in bed this morning, alone, sleepy and considering my life. It’s not what you think. I may have slept alone, but I’m not alone. There is someone else. The man with the shell, the one I have been “dancing” the two step with, said words to me the other night… that were the stuff I could  only dream about. And didn’t expect…. They were wonderful words, that I almost didn’t hear, because I was chattering on, as I do, often slightly nervous in his quiet company. I had made dinner for the two of us, and we had just sat down for our cozy meal. I chattered on until he brought me up short with an exasperated, ” Stop blabbering on! You almost missed something important I was just saying to you!” He was right. I hadn’t heard what he had just said. Wide eyed, I looked up at him. Had I just heard him use a word, a girl never, ever, ever, hears? A word that is so precious it should not be written about in black or white…. Not yet at least. ” I’m sorry! Ummn.. could I get a  replay please? “, I whispered with intensity.

He repeated what he had been trying to say. It’s private. It’s between us, so I won’t ever write about that most close space. But I will say, his words mean so much to me, so unexpected, and yet hoped for. And those words, and his bravely speaking them… bring tears to my eyes as I write this. That two people, late in our lives, can still have hope to find those things that are reserved for the young, who have so much life yet to live, is a miracle. That two people who have experienced so much pain which should have forged an iron barrier to believing in another ever again, can still find hope and the ability to trust in another person, is a miracle. I sat, mouth agape, and absorbed what he had said.

“Really???  Wow, that’s pretty wonderful. What’s amazing is that I can be completely my self around you, and you still like me. That’s, like, a miracle.” He was nodding and smiling.  ” I feel like I should go to church now. I owe God something.” and  to prove my point, of him liking me, in spite of being my sometimes clown-like self, I stood up from the table, and suddenly dropped to my bare knees on the wooden deck, threw my hands over my head, and shaking them in gratitude to the heavens,  shouted in my best Bible Revival meeting voice, loud enough for my neighbors to hear, ” Thank you Jesus! Thank You God! Praise Jesus! It’s a Miracle! “. He was laughing pretty hard. I got up from my knees and the noisy exclaiming, and we had a really nice romantic dinner that night. He really puts up with me well. I’m so happy.

Thank you Jesus…. it’s a miracle.

 

 

 

One thought on “Hallelujah! It’s a Miracle!

Leave a comment